For how long will I have to have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in my car?

 

OFFENSE LENGTH OF TIME REQUIRED FOR IID
1st DUI Offense, participating in diversion The Ignition Interlock Device must be installed for the duration of the diversion program (1 year)
1st DUI Conviction For 1 year after the ending date of the suspension or revocation caused by the conviction
2nd, or subsequent, DUI Conviction For 2 years after the ending date of the suspension or revocation caused by the conviction
  Violation of the requirement to have the IID installed and used in any vehicle operated by the person is a Class A Traffic Violation


The Oregon State Legislature is debating a bill which would increase the length of time required to have an ignition interlock device installed to five years after the ending of the longest running suspension if the person is convicted of a DUI and certain additional offenses (including murder, manslaughter in the first or second degree, criminally negligent homicide, or assault in the first degree).

A person also would be subjected to the five-year requirement if he or she is convicted of aggravated vehicular homicide or driving while under the influence of intoxicants and the person’s driving privileges are revoked and later ordered restored.

Rob Crow
Connect with me
Licensed to practice law in all State & Federal Courts in Oregon.
Be the first to comment!
Post a Comment